MEMBER: Jennifer Goswami

Name: Jennifer Goswami
Hometown: Minnetonka, MN
High School: Hopkins High School
College: Middlebury College
Occupation: Stay at home mom

Personal Bests
Half Marathon - 1:24
Marathon - 2:52

MEMBER SPOTLIGHT

By: Kevin Brandon (03/06/19)

Jennifer, thanks for taking time to speak with us. Could you tell us a bit about yourself? How did you end up in Philadelphia and running with PRTC?

I grew up in Minnesota and went to Middlebury College in Vermont. I moved to Philadelphia after college to get my master’s degree. After completing my degree, my husband and I moved a few times (to Virginia and Boston) and we have finally settled back in Philly with our three kids. I ended up running a few miles with a couple girls from PRTC in the Philly Marathon this fall and really enjoyed meeting them. I am very much a social runner and am looking forward to having others to train with throughout the year.

When did you first become a runner? Did a specific event compel you to take on the sport?

I got cut from the tennis team in 9th grade and the cross country team was open to everyone, so I decided to join as I wanted to play a sport. I ended up falling in love with running and ran cross country, track, and was a cross country skier all through high school and college.

Once you began running, how did your career develop? Take us through day one to today.

I couldn’t run a mile without walking when I stepped onto the cross county team in 9th grade. My first season was so much fun because even though we only raced a 4k, I literally took minutes off my time every week as I was running more and more. I ended up running DIII cross country at Middlebury and then started running marathons a few years post college. I ran my first marathon in 3:17 and after a few years of on and off running between having 3 kids, I ran my most recent marathon in 2:52. I hope to get more consistent training now that our youngest is just over one and continue to bring down my marathon time.

What is a favorite running accomplishment or moment?

Winning the National Cross Country Championship as a team my junior year of college was definitely a favorite moment. Our team was incredibly close knit - it was so fun working hard together and capturing the title.

How about a not-so-great moment?

Injuries! I had my fair share of injuries post college when I didn’t have a coach and thought my body could handle as many miles as I desired. I’ve learned I do best with lower mileage and a bit of cross training.

Regarding your running future, what are your near and long-term goals?

I’d love qualify for the Olympic Marathon trials in the near term and I hope to be able to keep running happily and pain free as long as possible.

Preferred pre and post-race meals?

I’m not too picky with pre-race meals. I usually stick to pasta, but anything is generally fine. Post-race, I love a veggie burger with bacon on top (strange order, but fabulous if you haven’t tried it!)

Can you share with us what you're currently up to professionally?

I’m currently a stay at home mom to our three kids (ages 5, 3, and 15 months). 

What did you do before staying home with your kids?

Before staying at home, I worked for NASA as a science curriculum developer and also worked as an elementary school teacher.