MEMBER: Timothy Appman

Name: Timothy Appman
Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA
High School: North Allegheny
College: Pennsylvania State University
Occupation: Project Engineer
Favorite Place to Run in Philly: Wherever the hills are

Personal Bests
Mile: 4:28
3200: 9:28
5k: 15:35
8k: 26:02
Half Marathon: 1:15:21
Marathon: 2:46:50

Career Highlights
2-time PIAA state medalist in Cross Country 5K
NIRCA All-American in the 5K, 8K, and Half Marathon


By: Kevin Brandon (03/11/19)

Tim, thanks for taking time to speak with us. Could you tell us a bit about yourself? How did you end up in Philadelphia and running with PRTC?

Greetings, all. I hail from Pittsburgh, where I worked for a general contracting firm as a project engineer for few years. I recently relocated to Philly to be in the same ZIP code as my girlfriend, who works for Back on My Feet Philadelphia. We'd been putting in the love miles since we graduated from PSU in 2016 and landed jobs in our respective hometowns. Fortunately I was able to keep my job by transferring to my company's branch out here. Upon moving to Philly, I was looking to join a competitive running club. I had heard that some fellow PSU Club XC alumni were involved with PRTC, and it felt like a good fit.

When did you first become a runner? Did a specific event compel you to take on the sport?

After consistently scoring at the top of my elementary school gym class on the FitnessGram PACER Test, I knew I was destined to be a runner. I joined the cross country and track teams in middle school, and have been competing ever since.

Once you began running, how did your career develop?

I started out middle of the pack in junior high, began to hit my stride in my sophomore year of high school, and finally made it onto the varsity squad as a junior. I continued running competitively during my college years with the Penn State Club XC team, racing the 8K against other NIRCA clubs. While at college I also began training for half and full marathons.

What is a favorite running accomplishment or moment?

Coming down the final stretch of my first marathon remains favorite racing experience to date.

How about a not-so-great moment?

In spite of not liking beer in my early college years, I attempted a beer mile and ralphed on the first lap. I've since stuck to the shot two mile.

Regarding your running future, what are your goals?

Working to bring down my HM and marathon PRs.

Preferred post long run meal?

Going to McDonald's with my long run buddy and sharing a Classic Bundle (featured at select locations). 2 Big Macs, 20 McNuggets, and 1 Basket of Fries for $10.

Can you share with us what you're currently up to professionally?

I'm employed as a project engineer at PJ Dick, and have worked on renovations of hospitals, offices, senior living facilities, and higher education buildings. My job involves identifying and solving problems, which is probably what I enjoy most.

Why are you passionate about this type of work?

The construction process is often an inconvenience to the public, but I like to think that the completed project improves the lives of the people who use it.

Any non-running related hobbies, hidden skills or talents we may enjoy hearing about?

I play violin in an indie folk duo with my namesake called Second Tim's the Charm. Mostly covers with a few original tracks. We've played "Margaritaville" at 95% of our shows. Check out our discography on Bandcamp!